Follow the Guide on How to Receive Ehsaas Emergency Cash

The federal government officially opened registrations days after the Ehsaas Emergency Cash System was announced.

Prime Minister Imran Khan began on Wednestag with an SMS service linking the deserving families to the Ehsaas Emergency Cash government portal.

Under this program, the federal government will provide Rs. 12,000 to every family facing financial crunch due to the ongoing coronavirus lockdown. As per the Chairperson Ehsaas Program, Dr. Sania Nishtar, as many as 10 million families across the country will benefit from this offer.

Given below is a step-by-step guide on how to register for the program.


According to one of her statements, one individual from each deserving family can apply for the program. However, the following people will not be eligible.

  • Government employees (in-service or retired)
  • Those who own a property
  • Have utility bills more than Rs. 10,000
  • Registered with other government relief/funding schemes

How to Apply

The government has kept registration for this program straightforward to ensure that even an illiterate person with basic knowledge of Mobile Phones can apply.

To get yourself enrolled for the emergency cash, all you have to do is to write your CNIC number in an SMS and send it to 8171.

The government will filter out your details in its socio-economic database. Within the next 24 hours, you will receive an SMS for confirmation or rejection.

Screening Process

In a TV interview earlier, Dr. Sania said that they have a comprehensive system in place to detect the applications from affluent people.

With the help of NADRA, we have developed two layers of people in our National Socio-Economic Registry (NSER) database. In the first layer, the overall filtering based on various parameters, such as, based on their occupation, belongings, and bank balance, will identify the affluence of people.

These people will receive a ‘regret message’ from the system.

How to Receive the Money

People who will pass through the first layer will be identified as ‘poor’ in the system and will be considered eligible for the relief fund. After the due process, the system will send them a message with all the details as to which bank they should visit to withdraw their emergency funds.

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular