These 32 Lahore Localities to Face ‘Smart Lockdown’

As many as 32 localities/hotspots for Covid-19 have been finalised for ‘smart lockdown’ in the provincial capital following presence of huge number of confirmed cases of the virus.

As many as 34,000 families of these areas [27,152 houses, total population 104,946] will be restricted to their homes and the lockdown will be implemented from tonight (Tuesday) night.

The decision was taken in a meeting held late on Monday night. The senior officers from the district government and the police attended the meeting.

An official privy to the development said apparently 32 areas/localities of Lahore were finalised in the meeting for lockdown.

34,000 families to be restricted to homes

The areas included Chaman Bagh, Rajgarh, Ramnagar, Qilla Gujjar Singh, Abdul Kareem Road, Usmania Colony, Royal Park, Karim Park at Shafiqabad, Goal Bagh at Shadbagh, Bagumkot, Shama Colony near Shahdara, Ravi Clifton, Hanif Park, Malik Park, Johar Town (B, F2, J2 and G3 blocks), Canal View Society B Block, Wapda Town (F2, G blocks), PCSIR Phase II B Block, Gulberg (A3, B2, B1 blocks), Sirajpura Darogawala, A and B blocks of Bismillah Housing Scheme, Manawan, DHA Phase 1 (all sectors), Askari 10 (complete), DHA Phase-5 (all sectors), Cavalry Ground (Shiraz Villas), eight streets of Gulshan Colony, Quaid-i-Millat Colony in Kotlakhpat area, Ghosia Colony in North Cantt, F Block 400-440 of Gulshan-i-Ravi, backside of Lahore General Hospital, Alhamad Colony, Islampura, etc.

The official said journalists, lawyers, judges, Rescue 1122 personnel and patients will be exempted from the lockdown.

He said the details of localities proposed by the authorities were almost double in number but they were cut to short keeping in view the police resources to ensure enforcement.

Another meeting will be held on Tuesday (today) and the list of localities will be increased, if necessary.

Meanwhile, the Punjab government has constituted three committees, giving them various assignments in the wake of the ‘smart lockdown’.

The committee for operational plan will comprised the Lahore commissioner, deputy commissioner, the capital city police officer, the Rescue 1122 DG, DHA CEO and representatives of agriculture, food and livestock departments.

Another committee shall monitor the supply chain of essential commodities and shall consist of ADC, AC concerned, DO industries, DO livestock, DO Food, secretary market committee and the representatives of wholesale markets and superstores.

The medical and emergency response committee shall comprise the ADC, CEO DHA and the representatives of health department. .

Earlier addressing a press conference at the Chief Minister Secretariat, Punjab Health Minister Yasmin Rashid said In the last two days, the worst-hit areas include Shahdra, Walled City, Mozang, Shadbagh, Harbanspura, Gulberg, Cantt, Nishtar Town, Allama Iqbal Town and some other small housing societies.

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular