Muharram: Govt Announces Two Holidays for Youm-e-Ashura

 The federal government on Friday announced two holidays for the upcoming Youm-e-Ashura.

The government has declared August 18 and 19 as public holidays to mark Youm-e-Ashura, said a notification from the Ministry of Interior. 

Earlier this week, the Central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee sighted the Muharram-ul-Haram moon, which rings in the new Islamic year, 1443 AH.

Youm-e-Ashura will be marked on August 19.

Notification on Ashura holiday issued by Ministry of Interior.
Notification on Ashura holiday issued by Ministry of Interior. 

Central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee Chairman Moulana Syed Muhammad Abdul Khabir Azad had presided over the meeting, which took place at the Deputy Commissioner’s office in Quetta.

Representatives from the Central and Zonal Ruet-e-Hilal Committees, Pakistan Meteorological Department officials, Ministry of Science and Technology, and Ministry of Religious Affairs and Harmony were present in the meeting.

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular