Punjab Announces Decision on Extension of Winter Vacations for Schools

The Punjab government, led by the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), has declared not to extend winter vacations in the province’s public and private educational institutions.

In this regard, Punjab’s Education Minister, Dr. Murad Raas, has stated that all public and private schools that were closed until January 6, 2022, due to winter vacations will reopen on January 7, 2022, as planned.

He welcomed all students and teachers back to school and recommended they follow the Coronavirus SOPs issued by the provincial government to avoid contracting the Omicron variant, which is spreading across the country.

It should be noted that the Punjab government declared on December 21, 2021, that winter vacations in the 36 districts would be observed in two phases. Winter vacation was observed in 24 districts’ schools from 23 December 2021 to 6 January 2022 under the first phase.

These districts’ schools will reopen on January 7, 2022:

  1. Kasur
  2. Sialkot
  3. Narowal
  4. Faisalabad
  5. Sahiwal
  6. Gujrat
  7. Gujranwala
  8. Pakpattan
  9. Sheikhupura
  10. Okara
  11. Vehari
  12. Khanewal
  13. Lahore
  14. Khushab
  15. Hafizabad
  16. Multan
  17. Lodhran
  18. Bahawalpur
  19. Bahawalnagar
  20. Sargodha
  21. Mandi Bahauddin
  22. Nankana Sahib
  23. Jhang
  24. Toba Tek Singh

In the meantime, winter vacation will be observed in the remaining 12 school districts from January 3 to 13, 2022. The following districts’ schools will reopen on January 14, 2022:

  1. Jhelum
  2. Mianwali
  3. Attock
  4. Muzaffargarh
  5. Chakwal
  6. Bhakkar
  7. Rawalpindi
  8. Rajanpur
  9. Layyah
  10. Raheem Yar Khan
  11. Dera Ghazi Khan
  12. Chiniot

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular