Twitter is still working on a feature that will allow you to send out tweets that will only be seen by the friends you specify. Last July, the social network revealed that it is considering allowing you to designate “trusted friends” so that some tweets are only visible to them.
Alessandro Paluzzi, a developer, and reverse engineer has discovered evidence that the feature is currently in development and that Twitter has renamed it “Flock.”
It may be renamed “Flock” if it is made available to the general public; the company told The Verge that “Flock” is just a placeholder name. According to the explanation Paluzzi discovered, its current version will allow you to add up to 150 users to your list, and they will be the only ones who can see and reply to tweets you send to the group.
Any tweet you send to your Flock will include a notice informing your followers that they can see it because you added them to the group. You can, however, edit the group at any time, and Twitter says it will not notify anyone who is removed.
When the company first revealed that it was thinking about adding a trusted friends feature, it also presented another concept that would allow you to take on different personas within the same account. It’s unclear whether that version of the feature is still in the works. Twitter is also testing a feature called Communities, which allows you to create a dedicated space for groups of people who share similar interests.
Flock, on the other hand, was created with your real friends in mind, much like Instagram’s Close Friends for Stories. Twitter said in a statement to The Verge that it is “always working on new ways to help people engage in healthy conversations, and [it is] currently exploring ways to let people share more privately.”