3 European Countries Officially Recognize Palestine

In a historic development, Norway, Ireland, and Spain have officially recognized the state of Palestine, a decision announced on Wednesday.

This move has been met with strong condemnation from Israel, while the Palestinian community celebrated the recognition.

In response to the announcements, Israel has taken decisive action by recalling its ambassadors from Norway and Ireland.

Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre declared that Norway would officially recognize a Palestinian state starting May 28. He stated, “By recognizing a Palestinian state, Norway supports the Arab peace plan.”

Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris also highlighted the significance of this decision, emphasizing its potential to promote a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. He was hopeful that more nations would soon aspire to set an example similar to that of Norway, Spain, and Ireland.

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez announced in Parliament that Spain would recognize Palestine as a state on May 28. Sánchez, who has led Spain’s Socialist Party since 2018, underscored the importance of this decision in supporting peace efforts in the region.

The recognition of Palestine by these three countries marks a significant shift in international relations and adds momentum to the efforts for a two-state solution.

Similar Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular